Skip to content

Women Entrepreneurs: Live Your Life Well Today

November 18, 2015

Business advice and inspiration for women entrepreneurs and small businesses

frostyfarmland

As I drove from Syracuse through Auburn towards Ithaca at 6:15 a.m. yesterday, the most beautiful dawn accompanied me. The dark black color of the night sky evaporated into shades of dark blue, light blue and pale yellow. The hillsides were glistening with frost and farmers were already up and working on their land. As the large sun rose over my left shoulder, its perimeter was etched with black birds greeting the dawn. It was a breathtaking drive I would have missed if I didn’t plan a breakfast seminar an hour away from home base.

My days typically unfold as yours do – in a hurry with little time to glance out the window to view the sunrise. I work hard like most woman entrepreneurs until darkness strikes at 5 p.m. wiping away another glorious autumn day. As I sit looking out my window right now the sun is setting and a golden hue hushes the bright lines of the day. The calendar on my desk reads, “Success is not about how fast you get through your day, it is about how well you live your day.” How true. I know I had a successful day yesterday because I lived it well taking in the beauty of the morning ride to Ithaca and a wonderful breakfast with 20 special women entrepreneurs.

Next week we will gather with loved ones around a harvest table as we celebrate our special national holiday of Thanksgiving. Excitement starts brewing as we imagine the people we will be with, the faces around the table, the dishes we will share and in my house filled with men – the football games we will watch. I will rise early to run off calories before the day begins. I will be thankful for my health and my love for running, I will also count my blessings especially the ones I treasure every day which is living in an amazing community of businesswomen.

Today’s post is to encourage you to think about what is most important in your personal and business life and acknowledge it today. If it is a special client, a long distance friend, a trusted advisor, a supportive spouse or partner, take time to thank them before next week arrives. I also hope you write down what a successful day means to you – how does it begin, who is in it and what is the outcome when night settles around it? Even when life hands us less than perfect moments, we have the choice to find something good that surrounds it.

Holiday-Family-TableNext Thursday I will be grateful for many special people including all the women who touched my life this year at events, as members, through social media and as readers of this blog. You all matter to me. I also hope you remember to pay attention to the small subtle extraordinary moments of each and every day so you can say you “lived your day well.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2015 9:13 am

    Thank you for this post, Tracy…and for the reminder to pay attention to the small subtle extraordinary moments of our days. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. November 18, 2015 9:15 am

    Thank you Annie for your comments. I am glad it inspired you today. Your photos and words always do the same for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

