Skip to content

The Importance of Business Communications

October 27, 2014

Business Advice for Women Entrepreneurs and Small Business Owners

businesscommunications

As I prepared a presentation for a class of freshman Oswego students on business communications, I had to look up the definition. Having always been asked to speak about entrepreneurship, female entrepreneurial issues or my own business success strategies, I wasn’t exactly sure what “business communications” was.

I was surprised to discover it was simply communication in a business context encompassing topics such as marketing, brand management, reputation management and even event management. It also includes public relations, advertising and interpersonal communication. I immediately labeled myself an expert in business communications having used all these avenues for 20 years to succeed as a woman entrepreneur.

But the professor didn’t want me to describe these topics in detail, instead she asked me to inspire my audience of 19 year olds with my personal business communications tips to help them succeed in college and as young graduates. Here’s what I shared:

* Be clear, honest, forthcoming and professional in all communication forms, at all times.

* Remember how you act, what you say and how you carry yourself are the biggest ways you communicate information about yourself to others. “Be aware. Be PR aware always.”

* Document conversations and agreements with others so you have proof of what you and another party have agreed upon in case an unforeseen circumstance arises. As my favorite boss once said to me, “Document the World” because it will protect you.

* Keep learning about Business Communications because it can help you professionally.

* Embrace and love Communications. If you own your own business someday, you will be the major communicator of your enterprise and brand image.

I strongly believe if you are a great communicator, you can be more successful in business and entrepreneurship. If you feel like you need more information in this subject, remember you can always further your own education on the topic too. Learning is not just for 19 year olds.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 28, 2014 9:43 am

    Very practical tips! There is no doubt that honesty and documentation will get you far. But I am especially partial to being aware at all times that what you post/share reflects both you and your business. Too often you will find those that are professional on one type of media but ruin all their hard work with a careless post on another.

    Like

Leave a Reply

