Skip to content

Life Hinges on Small Moments

February 27, 2013

Business Advice for Women Entrepreneurs

lillyledbetterandpresidentobama

Every woman starts her business for a reason. We become so passionate about something, we are moved to produce a service, sell a product or create an improved way of doing something. Just like every woman entrepreneur is unique, so is her passion for what she creates, produces and sells.

I don’t really know where my deep rooted belief in helping women entrepreneurs make more money stems from. I know I come from a lineage of feisty, independent women who had their own companies; but the discussion of equal pay for women never came up in conversations.

When I worked at my first job at a large investment brokerage firm in Philadelphia right after college, 99% of the stock brokers were men; only 1% were women. I worked for a Vice President who had a very rich, older male client who liked me. He called me “sweet hips” and invited me to go to Spain with him even though he was married. My very spirited 22 year old self would storm into my boss’ office and complain about the advances only to get the response, “Tracy, he is my largest client, you will treat him with respect. Don’t offend him.” I never offended him but I certainly stood my ground.

They say “Life hinges on small decisions,” I say, “Life hinges on single moments.” In those difficult moments, I swore I would stop working for the firm as soon as my annual bonus arrived and I would stay very true to who I was and say what I wanted to any man who made inappropriate comments. I’m sure these were the “moments” my feministic spirit sprouted.

Tomorrow at my Alma mater, SUNY Oswego, Lilly Ledbetter who fought to close the gap between women’s and men’s wages and had the “Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act” signed into law by President Obama on January 29, 2009 will speak. I can’t wait to listen to her because she represents a tenacious, fearless woman who fought not only for her own rights, but for a generation of women to follow.

Today’s blog is to inspire you to keep sticking true to your passion. Don’t get side tracked. Don’t let anyone say you can’t achieve what you are trying to achieve. Focus on the core beliefs inside you and work smart, diligently and hard to make a difference in this world through your own spirit and your entrepreneurial venture. If you do, success will greet you and you’ll love yourself for it.

We all need female examples like Lilly Ledbetter to remind us how being strong, focused women with a mission and purpose will change the world for the better.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

