Skip to content

The Value of $100

November 2, 2012

This morning as I listened to the morning news, I felt a strong desire to help the Hurricane Sandy victims and donated $100 to the American Red Cross relief efforts. The $100 is being matched.  I know my small contribution will mean a hundred times to one family.

I know because when I was in my mid-twenties, my father lost his job and had 3 small children at home. He called me with the news. Immediately I wanted to do something. My husband and I decided to buy them $100 worth of groceries.  $100 to us at that time was a lot of money.  My family was so grateful for the donation.

Yesterday at one of my regional events where women entrepreneurs can sell products to increase their holiday sales, I bought $100 worth of gifts from a couple business owners.  Giving them money and supporting their business was impactful for them and me.

There is value in $100. What can your $100 do today to help someone else? Here are a few things it can  do:

  • Puts a full tank of gas in two people’s cars who can’t find fuel.
  •  Provides a week of food for a family that’s hungry.
  • Provides warm blankets to a family waiting for heat.
  • Gives 20 cases of bottled water to a family who’s thirsty.

I ask that anyone who follows me through my business connections, family ties or friendship, sends a donation to the American Red Cross today. It is easy to do.  Your $100 will be matched and will bring a small amount of relief to our neighbors in New York and New Jersey.

The true value of $100 is priceless when you give it out of love and compassion to help people you don’t know.  Give and live generously.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2012 9:42 am

    Thanks for your inspiration and reminder how much every little bit helps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

