Skip to content

Who’s On The Shelf With You?

June 13, 2012

I just had my body kicked into shape by a popular brand…. Jillian Michaels. Known for her hard core, boot camp, don’t-be-a-baby workouts, I joyfully turned on Week 3 of the “Shred Your Body” DVD to get in shape for my upcoming high school reunion. Now that event brings motivation!

In the middle of the pain, I remembered back to when I bought the work-out DVD on a shelf lined with a multitude of choices. I knew Richard Simmons wasn’t going to do it for me since he’s a little too odd and giddy and either was fitness guru Jack LaLanne a well-known, “old” time body builder. Knowing women inspire me more, I headed for the most popular female brand on the market…Jillian Michaels. I knew what I was getting myself in for when I bought the tape because she has a very recognizable brand and that brand is exactly what I experienced today!
 
So when your customers are in the market ready to buy what you sell and they look at the shelf of offerings, what and who do they see? Do they look for you first? Who else is gracing the shelf with you? Do you know your competition and what their brand stands for? Do you really know your brand?

Today’s post is meant to have you look at the shelf where your product or service can be found and see who else is gracing the shelf with you? Do you know your competition’s brand and your similarities and differences? If it’s been awhile since you’ve stopped to look around, take time in the next week to do some research. You might even want to test out their products or services.

Remember what consumers think and say about your company is how you will be branded. Don’t leave it up to chance to be known as the Richard Simmons or Jack LaLanne in your field. Work out hard to create a  well-known, results-orientated brand like Jillian Michaels.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

