Skip to content

Risk Taking

December 7, 2011

At the October Women TIES Annual Retreat, Amy Dickinson, the nationally syndicated advice columnist of “Ask Amy” which is read by an estimated 22 million readers daily and appears in more than 150 newspapers nationwide including the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, and the Washington Post, inspired women to not be afraid to ask for what they want. She said, “I have discovered 3 out of 10 requests I ask for are usually granted. Knowing the percentage of success helps me plan for the outcome whether it’s positive or negative and inspires me to ask big.”

Her statement was one of a handful of profound statements that resonated with me that day.  With confidence in my Wednesday Wisdom writing, I approached Amy shortly after the Retreat to be the business advice contributor for her new national blog “Ask Amy Daily” debuting in December.  For six years I have written columns, like this one today, to inspire women entrepreneurs all over New York. The positive reaction to my editorials is something I thought could lead to something bigger someday. 

That ‘someday’ was Monday, when Amy Dickinson’s new blog “Ask Amy Daily: An All Advice Portal” launched with a blog section entitled “Entrepreneurial Spirit” written by yours truly.  At least once a week I’ll post an original business lesson and advice piece. My goal is to not only inspire more women across the country and internationally, but to increase the awareness of the Women TIES organization in hopes of drawing more consumers to the website to buy from our members.

Today’s blog is to inspire you with Amy Dickinson’s advice to make 10 requests this week, whether they are sales phone calls, new client appointments, national writing opportunities or speaking engagements to increase your chances for success. Remember you might only receive 3 out of 10 things you ask for; but consider how those 3 positive requests can positively set your business in a new direction.

Once you are done making your 10 requests, check out Amy’s new blog www.askamydaily.com and look for my column “Entrepreneurial Spirit”. I hope you bookmark it, share it with others, and read it on any other day than Wednesday because you’ll always have my personal Wednesday Wisdoms to inspire you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dorothea Schrader permalink
    December 9, 2011 12:49 pm

    Thanks, Tracy. I did it! I asked and received a nice order for my Pandora-style bracelet, Murano Glass Beads and Christmas charms from someone where I did the Mini-trade show at the Women TIES meeting in Skanaeteles. She really likes the good prices of D’oro+Silver Jewelry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

