Skip to content

Running a Business During A Personal Crisis

December 15, 2009

Over the past few weeks severaly women entrepreneurs have contacted me about feeling derailed from running their businesses to take care of personal health issues for themselves and their parents. They asked me for advice on how to take care of their family situation and their business simultaneously.

I believe creating a weekly management timeline is a must for entrepreneurs running businesses in the midst of a personal crisis. Entrepreneurship requires mental energy and focus so when personal situations develop it can be overwhelming to divide time between corporate and personal responsibilities. Utilizing a management tool can ease stress.

Since I’m probably best known for my organizational skills as an event manager and entrepreneur. Daily I create and update a task list for the upcoming week. Layered in it are large and small tasks for both of my companies. When personal situations occur, I layer in private appointments too which gives me a comprehensive “plan” for seven days. By revisiting and updating this list each morning and night, I am able to continually manage my time effectively and feel in control of all of my responsibilities.

A weekly management timeline allows an entrepreneur to “dump” the stress and myriad of details from their mind to a document and gives a sense of control over family and corporate obligations.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

