Skip to content

Election Day Advice: If You Have to Choose – Vote Women

November 5, 2013

Advice for Women, Business Owners and Women Entrepreneurs

JoannieMahoneyWinning

In September 2007, I did something I had never done before. I threw my personal and business support behind someone running for office. It wasn’t just someone – it was a woman- Joannie Mahoney who was running to be the first women to hold the position of County Executive in Onondaga County, New York. I felt the male dominated government in Onondaga County and Syracuse wasn’t helping to progress our city or county. I knew if a woman was elected there would be positive movement forward. I had met Joannie before and thought she would be perfect to run the county and make it stronger.

I contacted Joannie’s office and told them I would support and promote her through my company Women TIES. One sunny afternoon, I took a photo with Joannie which her office turned into 500 invitations that were delivered to me. I handwrote notes on each card and sent them to my membership base and women I knew in the community. I wanted to share my passion for supporting this woman to an elected position. I didn’t have a lot of money to donate but I did have time, connections and women who might listen to my suggestion.

When I woke up the morning after election and saw the photo of Joannie triumphantly exuberant on the front page of the Syracuse Post Standard with her sons at her side, I felt not only excited for her but for our county’s future. In our community female politicians have a way of reaching across the table to make deals happen, to listen to all sides of a problem, and to progress agendas that use to be stalled. In fact I see it in all women who hold the highest positions in government and higher educational institutions like Syracuse Mayor Stephanie Miner, SUNY Oswego President Deborah Stanley, and Syracuse University Chancellor Nancy Cantor. Women want to make a difference in their place of work and community. It’s a reason we need more women working in elected and higher professional positions.

So today I ask you to consider voting for as many women as you can on your community’s election ballot. If you don’t recognize the male or female name running for a position, choose to elect the woman. We need equal representation in government. Women bring a different quality to negotiating and compromising in the workplace. We need more female voices to be heard.

Our world is made up of an equal amount of men and women. It only makes sense to have an equal representation in government too. Vote women. Thank you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,528 other followers

